©2008 Historic Downtown Association-St. Charles
208 North Main
(1904, Albert Runge)
A small one story Revival style building built in 1904 to replace an earlier 1853 structure, this unique property has a pressed metal ornamental cornice, glazed brick piers, a color fired tile entry and full glass front. Its occupants contributed significantly to the modernization of St. Charles around the turn of the century. Mr. Runge and Mr. Link were plumbers and John Schulze was in his early thirties when he took over the plumbing business. New bath tubs, toilets and showers were purchased here and, in addition to facilities for homes, Mr. Schulze was responsible for plumbing and 'sewering' St. Charles' new manufacturing buildings, schools, banks and St. Joseph Hospital. St. Charles Light and Power manufactured gas just across the alley to the rear of this property.